Image

sometimes life seems hard to bear

full of sorrow, trouble and woe

it’s then i have to remember

that it’s in the valleys i grow

*

if i always stayed on the mountain top

and never experienced pain

i would never appreciate God’s love

and would be living in vain

*

i have so much to learn

and my growth is very slow

sometimes i need the mountain tops

but it’s in the valleys i grow

*

i do not always understand

why things happen as they do

but i am very sure of one thing

my lord will see me through

*

my little valleys are nothing

when i picture Christ on the crooss

he went through the valley of death

his victory was Satan’s loss

*

forgive me lord, for complaining

when i’m feeling so very low

just give me a gentle reminder

that it’s in the valleys i grow

*

continue to strengthen me, Lord

and use my life each day

 to share your love with others

and help them find their way

*

thank you for valleys, Lord

for this one thing i know

the mountain tops are glorious

but it’s in the valleys i grow

/

by Jane Eggleston