not long ago i heard from a pastor friend who was battling with his fifteen-year-old daughter.
he knew she was using birth control, and several nights she had not bothered to come home at all.
the parents had tried various forms of punishment, to no avail.
the daughter lied to them, deceived them,
and found a way to turn the tables on them: "it’s your fault for being so strict!"

my friend told me,
"i remember standing before the plate-glass window in my living room,
staring out into the darkness, waiting for her to come home.
i felt such rage. i wanted to be like the father of the Prodigal Son,
yet i was furious with my daughter for the way she would manipulate us and twist the knife to hurt us.
and of course, she was hurting herself more than anyone.
i understood then the passages in the prophets expressing God’s anger.
the people knew how to wound him, and God cried out in pain."

"and yet i must tell you, when my daughter came home that night,
or rather the next morning, i wanted nothing in the world so much as to take her in my arms,
to love her, to tell her i wanted the best for her.
i was a helpless, lovesick father."

now, when i think about God, i hold up that image of the lovesick father,
which is miles away from the stern monarch i used to envision.
i think of my friend standing in front of the plate-glass window gazing achingly into the darkness.
i think of Jesus’ depiction of the Waiting Father, heartsick, abused, yet wanting above all else
to forgive and begin anew, to announce with joy,
"This my son was dead, and is alive again; he was lost, and is found."

– What is so Amazing about Grace? by Philip Yancey

grace costs nothing for the recipients but everything for the giver.

恩典的甘美  很多时候 在教会长大的我们都忽略了 其中的奥秘  我们无法测透
从小  唱着赞美诗里熟悉的  奇异恩典  听着主日学老师说的故事  浪子回头
圣经里  我们似懂非懂的喻言  伴着我们成长
童年和少年岁月里  教会团契里的规矩  导师领袖的约束  圣经里的诫命律法
我们习惯了  成为大人眼中的乖宝宝  很谨慎的尽我们的职分  努力的不越过界限
很小心地不惹大家的怒气  团契小组里  我们都是很好的基督徒
对于圣经的常识  我们努力的背诵  希望比赛中能够有优异的成绩  却忽略了其中的意义
我们开始模仿大人的祷告词  千篇一律的  用深奥优美的字眼  以为能够俘虏上帝的心
更难过的是  我们开始学会指指点点  自以为是的捧着熟悉的圣经  纠正其他人的不是
自以为义的我们  排挤圈子以外  流浪的孩子
在属于自己的范围之内  我们很慷慨的相聚在一起  享用聚餐  但对于我们的社区
走入这个世界的时候  我们变得格外小心  吝啬的对自己的付出有所保留
我们似乎遵行耶稣的大使命  但我们从来没有拥抱耶稣的恩典
他怜爱的  他在乎的  他寻找的  他关心的  他等候的  他接纳的
不是教会里很好的基督徒  很有爱心的基督徒  很有效力的基督徒  很热心服事的基督徒
而是在外头流浪的孩子  而是失去方向的迷路羔羊  而是丧尽良心有叛逆的不孝子
而是在街头徘徊的乞丐  而是在黑暗的角落中哭泣的灵魂  而是在压迫中哭号的奴隶
而是犯下滔天大罪的死囚  而是造成家庭分裂的酗酒父亲  而是一手毁灭孩子的吸毒分子
而是为了金钱而不惜失去尊严的妓女  而是家徒四壁、穿着破烂、满口粗话的小孩
而是在战乱中失去家园的孩子  而是生活富足内心却渴望爱的千金小姐
而是拥有一切的财富却躺在病床上独自一人哭泣的守财奴
而是在我们的班上被孤立的那位男孩  在我们的亲戚朋友中一无所有的那位穷汉子
在我们的邻舍间大家都回避的那位精神病患者

曾几何时  在我们的骄傲和自以为义中  我们小心地将自己分别为圣
在自己舒适的教会圈子中  快乐的享受团契的温暖  慷慨的奉献金钱来盖一所富丽堂皇的教堂
日复一日  年复一年  吸取了丰富的圣经知识  对牧师的证道和老师的教导熟悉不已
我们的脑袋里  装着许多真理的知识  但我们的生命里 
却失去了起初的恩典

褪色的恩典
让上帝痛心  让耶稣难过  让圣灵担忧
我们忠心地服事  但却失去了喜乐的本质  取而代之的  是人的喜悦  是功效的回报

恩典的甘美
开始发酸了
苦涩的味道
捆绑着我们

我们努力做好的一切  究竟有永恒的价值吗
上帝  你喜欢吗
很努力的渴求上帝的喜悦
竭力得到上帝的认同

却忘记了  在他完全的恩典里
他已经为全人类付了完全的代价
即使在我们还未痛改前非  即使在我们依然在天堂门外徘徊
即使我们依然抗拒他  即使我们依然对他有所保留
即使我们痛恨他  怪罪他  憎恨他  离开他
他已经原谅我们
他早已经为我们付上了生命的代价

grace costs nothing for the recipients
but everything for the giver

尽管我的骄傲  我的任性  我的软弱  我的私欲  我的猜忌  我的嫉妒  常常让我痛悔不已
但在十字架前  我知道  我的不完美  他已经包容
我的骄傲  他已经代替我承担了刑法
我的嫉妒  他早已经原谅了
 
How can I give you up, Ephraim?
How can I hand you over, Israel?


即使他深深受到伤害  即使他从来没有得到无理的人类的了解
即使他的忍耐和宽容从来没有被珍惜  即使他的泪水和哭泣从来没有得到安慰
他依然容许自己的情感受到折磨
因为他由始至终  从来都没有放弃

最近  我的祷告日记里  常常出现这样的字眼

天父  帮助我  拥抱你的恩典
在我的 ungrace 中  让我活出你的 grace
即使那么一丁点也好
我需要你的恩典  来面对自己 来面对身边的人  来处理自己手里的任务
我需要仰望你的恩典  依靠你的恩典  度过每一天
恩典  让我的生命美丽
虽然看起来那么的遥远  但在日出日落之中  捕捉了你的恩典
我知道  只有你的恩典
让我有呼吸的勇气