This morning God has taught me a very important lesson, and I’m very excited about it.

Light of the world: come and think about it.

Have you ever thought of what it means by being the light of the world?

When Jesus asked us to be the light and the salt of the world, what comes across your mind? Last Friday, we had this interesting discussion about light of the world in our caregroup as Ian shared the Connect Journal.

Ian thinks to be the light of the world is basically about making a difference.

But today, I learned that it’s beyond making a difference à it is making an impact!

 

We learned in our Physics class that light is a form of energy.

And we also know that the definition of work is the transfer of energy to produce an effect. For instance, pushing the wall is not considered a work because the wall doesn’t move. Lifting up an eraser is a work because energy is being transferred to go against gravity force. And the effect is visible! So as we come to think about light as a form of energy, it is clear that it will produce an effect when it travels (it shines)

 

So light is there, not just to be different from others.

It produces impact.

It sweeps away darkness.

People can feel the warmth of the light.

And for those in the darkness, they will instinctively follow the light to where it goes.

The light will point them in the right direction and show them the right way home.

The light will give them hope and arise in them the longing to go after it.

It is more than just being there to catch people’s attention.

It is more than just being there to be different, for others to see.

It is there to draw people’s attention and guide them to where they are to be.

It is there to change the people’s lives.

It is there so that people won’t stumble and fall away.

It is there for those who desire to seek the truth find the way to God.

It is there… no matter how faint and how weak the light is, it gives comfort to those living in the darkness…

 

Light is more about making an impact.

When a difference is made, an impact is elicited.

When people see the light, they do not only admire the light and remain where they are, they follow the light, and they find the Right Way à Jesus…

It makes a difference in a world of darkness…

It is not tangible, but we can see the effects…

Lives are transformed and hearts are touched…

 

Am I the light of the world?

Do I shine for God? Or do I shine for myself?

Do I glorify God in my action and my speech? Do I honour Him in my thought?

Do I give credit to Him in all my victory?

Or am I too prideful to acknowledge Him in my life?

 

Truly, may it be said of me…

My source of strength, my source of hope, is Christ alone!


Did you know you can now drag and drop your emails into folders easily with Windows Live Hotmail? Try it now!